Regions

California has launched a statewide effort to ensure an accurate and complete count of Californians in the 2020 Census. That’s why the California Complete Count Office grouped California’s 58 counties into 10 regions based on their hard-to-count populations, like-mindedness of the counties, capacity of community-based organizations within the counties, and state Census staff workload capabilities.

These regions know their populations best. Targeted outreach and communication efforts toward hard-to-count populations in these areas will help toward the goal of a complete count in 2020.

a

Counties in Each Region

Region

Counties

1

Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

2

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

3

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

4

Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

5

Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Ventura

6

Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

7

Riverside, San Bernardino

8

Los Angeles

9

Orange

10

Imperial, San Diego

California Statewide CBO Awardees

The California Complete Count – Census 2020 Office announced Friday, March 13, 2019 a second round of organizations it will partner with to encourage participation of all Californians in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 decennial count. These 13 community-based organizations (CBOs) will focus their statewide outreach on demographic groups considered particularly hard to count.

The State identified 15 populations that are least likely to respond to the 2020 Census and therefore considered California’s hardest to count residents. Organizations targeting 9 of those 15 populations submitted proposals and will share in $4,000,000 that the State has allocated so far for demographic-specific outreach. The State will award another round of contracts after June 2019 to capture the remaining demographic groups and augment the first round of groups. Governor Gavin Newsom has proposed additional funding in the 2019-20 State Budget for this effort. 

Following are the current awardees:

Demographic Group

Organization

Latinos

 

NALEO Educational Fund
1122 W. Washington Blvd., Third Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90015

Arturo Vargas, Chief Executive Officer
213-747-7606
avargas@naleo.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Adriana Martinez

Latino Community Foundation
235 Montgomery St. Suite 1160
San Francisco, CA 95104

Jacqueline Martinez Garcel
415-236-4023
jgarcel@latinocf.org

California Complete Count assigned staffAdriana Martinez

African-Americans


California Calls

4801 Exposition Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90016

Anthony Thigpenn, President
818-442-1963
kaci@socialgoodsolutions.com

California Complete Count assigned staff: David Tucker

Native Americans and Tribal Communities

 

California Indian Manpower Consortium
738 North Market Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95834

Lorenda T. Sanchez, Executive Director
916-920-0285
lorendas@cimcinc.com

California Complete Count assigned staff: Connie Hernandez

California Native Vote Project
1000 N. Alameda Street, Suite 240
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Mamie Funahashi, Chief Financial Officer
213-346-3202
grants@communitypartners.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Connie Hernandez

Asian-Americans & Pacific Islanders (API)

 

Asian Americans Advancing Justice
1145 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90017

Stewart Kwoh, President
213-977-7500
skwoh@advancingjustice-la.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Sara Pol-Lim

Immigrants and Refugees

 

Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights (CHIRLA)
2533 W. 3rd St., Suite 101
Los Angeles, CA 90057

Angelica Salas, Executive Director
213-353-1335
asalas@chirla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Patricia Vazquez-Topete

Farmworkers

 

Mixteco/Indigena Community Organizing Project
520 West Fifth St., Suite G
Oxnard, CA 93030

Arcenio J. Lopez, Executive Director
805-483-1166
arcenio.lopez@mixteco.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Emilio Vaca

California Rural Legal Assistance, Inc. (CRLA)
1430 Franklin Street, Suite 103
Oakland, CA 94612

Susan Podesta, Director of Grants and Contracts
530-742-5191 ext. 319
spodesta@crla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Emilio Vaca

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ)

 

Equality California Institute
3701 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 725
Los Angeles, CA 90010

Robbie Rodriguez, Program Director
323-848-9801
robbie@eqca.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Mignonne Pollard

Areas with low broadband subscription rates and limited or no access

 

United Ways of California
915 L Street Suite C #255
Sacramento, CA 95814

Wes Samms, Development Director
877-355-8922 x 7
wsamms@unitedwaysca.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Quintilia Avila

Households with limited English proficiency

 

Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights (CHIRLA)
2533 W. 3rd St., Suite 101
Los Angeles, CA 90057

Angelica Salas, Executive Director
213-353-1335
asalas@chirla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Clarissa Laguardia

GreatNonprofits, DBA CommunityConnect Labs
330 Twin Dolphin Drive, Suite 131
Redwood City, CA 94065

Perla Ni, CEO
415-902-2659
perlani@greatnonprofits.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Clarissa Laguardia

California Regional ACBO Awardees

On Tuesday, March 12, 2019, the California Complete Count Office announced 10 administrative community-based organizations that it is partnering with to encourage participation of all Californians in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 decennial count.

Totaling $22.95 million, with an additional proposed $10 million from Governor Gavin Newsom, the Administrative Community-Based Organization awards go to community-based organizations that will target hard-to-count populations within each of California’s 10 regions.

Region

Counties

ACBO

1

Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

Sacramento Region Community Foundation
955 University Ave, Suite A
Sacramento, CA 95825

Niva Flor
Director, Grantmaking and Strategic Impact
niva@sacregcf.org
(916) 921-7723

Census Office Staff Lead: Yumi Sera

2

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

United Way of the Wine Country
975 Corporate Center Parkway, Suite 160
Santa Rosa, CA 95407

Nicollette Weinzveg
Health Program Officer
nicollette.weinzveg@unitedwaywinecountry.org
(707) 528-4485

Census Office Staff Lead: Carlos Beltran

3

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

United Way of the Bay Area
550 Kearny Street, Suite 1000
San Francisco, CA 94108

Kelly Batson
Senior Vice President, Community Impact
kbatson@uwba.org
(415) 808-4315

Census Office Staff Lead: David Tucker

4

Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Faith in Action Network
2143 East Cesar E Chavez Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Pablo Rodriguez
pablo@cncedfund.org
(916) 542-8490

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

5

Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Ventura

Ventura County Community Foundation
4001 Mission Oaks Blvd., Suite A
Camarillo, CA 93012

Vanessa Bechtel
President
vbechtel@vccf.org
(805) 330-6676

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

6

Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

Sierra Health Foundation: Center for Health Project Management
1321 Garden Hwy
Sacramento, CA 95833

Ellen Braff Guajardo
Senior Program Officer
ebraff-guajardo@sierrahealth.org
(916) 396-5227

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

7

Riverside, San Bernardino

The Community Foundation
3700 Sixth Street, Suite 200
Riverside, CA 92501

Deborah Phares
Project Manager, Census 2020
deborah@censusie.org
714-262-4250

Census Office Staff Lead: Quintilia Avila

8

Los Angeles

California Community Foundation
221 S. Figueroa Street #400
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Stephania Ramirez
Director of Strategic Initiatives
sramirez@calfund.org
(213) 452-6247

Census Office Staff Lead: Cecil Flournoy

9

Orange

Charitable Ventures of Orange County
4041 MacArthur Blvd. Suite 510
Newport Beach, CA 92660

Susan Johnson, Project Manager
Susan.johnson@charitableventuresoc.org
(714) 597-6630 x123

Census Office Staff Lead: Sara Pol-Lim

10

Imperial, San Diego

United Way of San Diego County
4699 Murphy Canyon Road
San Diego, CA 92123

Michele Silverthorn
Count Me 2020 Coalition Project Manager
michele.silverthorn@gmail.com
619-549-9838

Census Office Staff Lead: Connie Hernandez

California Census Office Regional Contacts

The California Complete Count – Census 2020 is headquartered in Sacramento and given the geographic size of the state and scope of work that needs to be completed to ensure a successful count, it has established outreach offices in Los Angeles, San Diego, Fresno and Oakland.

The Census Office has dedicated staff assigned to each region. Learn more about them here.

The Census Office created Regional Program Manager (RPM), Regional Program Associate (RPA), Northern, Central and Southern California Lead RPM positions to collaborate and coordinate with HTC communities within regions and sectors. This regional management structure is core to the outreach team’s ability to establish and coordinate local relationships and effectively manage contracts.

Region

Counties

Regional Program Manager

1

Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

Yumi Sera

 

1

Placer, Nevada

Emilio Vaca

2

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

Carlos Omar Beltran

3

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

David Tucker

4

Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Madera, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Emilio Vaca

4

Mariposa, Merced

Patricia Vazquez-Topete

5

San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara

 

 

Irving Pacheco 

 

5

Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey

Patricia Vazquez-Topete

5

Ventura

Cecil Flournoy

6

Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

Mai Thao

7

Riverside, San Bernardino

Quintilia Ávila

8

East Los Angeles, Southeast Los Angeles, San Gabriel Valley, Antelope Valley, City of Los Angeles (Council Districts 1,2,3,6,7,13,14)

Irving Pacheco

8

Long Beach, South Bay cities, City of Los Angeles (Council District 15, San Pedro/Port of LA/Wilmington)

Sara Pol-Lim

8

South Los Angeles, West Los Angeles, San Fernando Valley, City of Los Angeles (Council Districts 4,5,8,9,10,11,12)

Cecil Flournoy

9

Orange

Sara Pol-Lim

10

Imperial, San Diego

Connie Hernandez

 

Sectors Outreach Manager – Marcy Kaplan

Education Outreach Manager – Mignonne Pollard

Language and Communication Access Manager – Clarissa Laguardia

To contact the Census Office Outreach Team, please click here.

To create cohesiveness between state and federal census efforts, the U.S. Census Bureau will assign one partnership specialist to each of the 10 established state regions who will then coordinate with the assigned RPM to that region. The RPM will also be coordinating and collaborating with all local and tribal governments, CBOs, foundations, and other interested stakeholders in their assigned region. 

U.S. Census Bureau Partnership Coordinators

Coordinator

Phone

Email

Lia Bolden (Northern CA-West)

510-935-9886

Elaine.Lia.Bolden@2020census.gov

Tammie Brown (LA County – part)

213-314-6419

Tammie.N.Brown@2020census.gov

Jessica Imotichey (Tribal and Congressional)

213-314-6268

Jessica.A.Imotichey@2020census.gov

Meredith Maxwell (LA County – part)

213-314-6276

Meredith.D.Maxwell@2020census.gov

Rosa Rendon (Central Coast and Fresno)

213-314-6230

Rosa.Rendon@2020census.gov

Brigitte Roberts (Northern CA – East)

510-761-1150

Brigitte.E.Roberts@2020census.gov

 

Click here (PDF) to view the U.S. Census Bureau map of geographical assignments.

County and Local Complete Count Committee Contacts

County Local CCC Chair E-mail Phone ACBO Contact
Alameda County Casey Farmer Casey.Farmer@acgov.org 510-393-0388 Kelly Batson
Alpine County Opt-out      
Amador County Opt-out      
Butte County Opt-out      
Calaveras County Christa Von Latta CVonLatta@co.calaveras.ca.us 209-754-6025 Jeremy Ziskind
Colusa County Donna Dennis Donna.Dennis@countyofcolusa.com 530-458-0290 Priscilla Enriquez
Contra Costa County Barbara Riveira Barbara.Riveira@cao.ccounty.us 925-335-1018

Priscilla Enriquez

 

Del Norte County TBD TBD TBD Jennifer O’Donnell
El Dorado County TBD TBD TBD Priscilla Enriquez
Fresno County TBD TBD TBD Gil Alvarado
Glenn County Opt-out      
Humboldt County Connie E. Stewart connie.stewart@humboldt.edu 707-826-3400 Jennifer O’Donnell
Imperial County Rebecca Terrazas-Baxter Rebeccaterrazas-Baxter@co.imperial.ca.us 442-265-1014 Nancy L. Sasaki
Inyo County Cathreen Richards crichards@inyocounty.us 760-878-0447 Gil Alvarado
Kern County Thomas Brown brownt@kerncounty.com 661-868-3198 Gil Alvarado
Kings County TBD kyria.martinez@co.king.ca.us 559-852-2377 Gil Alvarado
Lake County Rachael Dillman Rachael.Dillman@lakecountyca.gov 707-995-4290 Jennifer O’Donnell
Lassen County TBD TBD TBD Priscilla Enriquez
Los Angeles County Maria Garcia
Dorothea Park

maria.garcia@lacity.org

dpark@ceo.lacounty.org

213-922-9768 Steven Cobb
Madera County TBD Matthew.Trever@maderacounty.com 559-675-7703 Jeremy Ziskind
Marin County

Kristin Drumm

Cristine Alilovich

kdrumm@marincounty.org

Cristine.Alilovich@cityofsanrafael.org

415-473-6269 

415-944-0648

Kelly Batson
Mariposa County Rebecca Maietto rmaietto@mariposahsc.org 209-742-0955 Jeremy Ziskind
Mendocino County Barbara Howe howeb@mendocinocounty.org   Jennifer O’Donnell
Merced County TBD TBD   Jeremy Ziskind
Modoc County Tiffany Martinez tiffanymartinez@co.modoc.ca.us 530-233-6201 Priscilla Enriquez
Mono County Rebecca Buccowich rbuccowich@mono.ca.gov 760-932-5408 Jeremy Ziskind
Monterey County TBD sotory1@co.monterey.ca.us 831-755-5840 Vanessa Bechtel
Napa County Mary Booher Mary.Booher@countyofnapa.org 707-253-4153 Jennifer O’Donnell
Nevada County Taylor Wolfe Taylor.Wolfe@co.nevada.ca.us 530-265-7020 Priscilla Enriquez
Orange County Saul Viramontes saul.viramontes@ocgov.com 714-834-4755 Ted Kim
Placer County TBD TBD   Priscilla Enriquez
Plumas County Opt-Out      
Riverside County Dr. Karthick Ramakrishnan karthick@ucr.edu 951-827-5540 Michelle Decker
Sacramento County Judy Robinson Robinsonju@saccounty.net 916-874-4551 Priscilla Enriquez
San Bernardino County Dr. Karthick Ramakrishnan karthick@ucr.edu 951-827-5540 Michelle Decker
San Benito County Dulce Alonso dalonso@cosb.us 831-636-4000 x 18 Vanessa Bechtel
San Diego County Darlanne Hoctor Mulmat darlanne.mulmat@sandag.org 619-699-7326 Nancy L. Sasaki
San Francisco City & County Adrienne Pon adrienne.pon@sfgov.org 415-581-2358 Kelly Batson
San Joaquin County Opt-out      
San Luis Obispo County Kristin Eriksson keriksoon@co.slo.ca.us 805-781-5014 Vanessa Bechtel
San Mateo County Emma Gonzalez elgonzalez@smcgov.org 650-363-1938 Kelly Batson
Santa Barbara County TBD dBozanich@countyofsb.org

805-568-3403 

Vanessa Bechtel
Santa Clara County Nicholas Kuwada nicholas.kuwada@ceo.sccgov.org TBD Kelly Batson
Santa Cruz County TBD peter.detlefs@santacruzcounty.us 831-454-3407 Vanessa Bechtel
Shasta County Denise Keokhamdy dkeokhamdy@co.shasta.ca.us 530-245-6493 Priscilla Enriquez
Sierra County Opt-out      
Siskiyou County Opt-out      
Solano County

Matt Walsh

Robert Burris

mwalsh@solanocounty.com

robert@solanoedc.org

707-784-6765 Kelly Batson
Sonoma County TBD TBD TBD Jennifer O’Donnell
Stanislaus County TBD TBD TBD Jeremy Ziskind
Sutter County Brynda Stranix bstranix@ysedc.org 530-751-8559  x103 Priscilla Enriquez
Tehama County Tara L. Loucks-Sheperd TLoucks@tcdss.org 530-528-4158 Priscilla Enriquez
Trinity County Opt-out      
Tulare County Barbara Pilgard alcruz.@countytulare.ca.us 559-623-0450 Gil Alvarado
Tuolumne County Eric Erhardt EErhardt@co.tuolume.ca.us 209-533-5511 Jeremy Ziskind
Ventura County TBD rigoberto.vargas@ventura.org 805-981-5101 Vanessa Bechtel
Yolo County Jenny Tan Jenny.Tan@yolocounty.org 530-666-8170 Priscilla Enriquez
Yuba County Brynda Stranix bstranix@ysedc.org TBD Priscilla Enriquez

Contact

California Census Office Headquarters - Sacramento
400 R St., Suite 359
Sacramento, CA 95811
916-852-2020

Please visit our Contact Us page for more information.

Looking to reach the U.S. Census Bureau? Click here to contact them.