Regions

California has launched a statewide effort to ensure an accurate and complete count of Californians in the 2020 Census. That’s why the California Complete Count Office grouped California’s 58 counties into 10 regions based on their hard-to-count populations, like-mindedness of the counties, capacity of community-based organizations within the counties, and state Census staff workload capabilities.

These regions know their populations best. Targeted outreach and communication efforts toward hard-to-count populations in these areas will help toward the goal of a complete count in 2020.

a

Counties in Each Region

Region

Counties

1

Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

2

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

3

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

4

Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

5

Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Ventura

6

Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

7

Riverside, San Bernardino

8

Los Angeles

9

Orange

10

Imperial, San Diego

CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY BASED ORGANIZATIONS PARTNERS

The California Complete Count – Census 2020 Office announced Friday, March 13, 2019 a second round of organizations it will partner with to encourage participation of all Californians in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 decennial count. These 13 community-based organizations (CBOs) will focus their statewide outreach on demographic groups considered particularly hard to count.

The State identified 15 populations (PDF) that are least likely to respond to the 2020 Census and therefore considered California’s hardest to count residents. Organizations targeting 9 of those 15 populations submitted proposals and will share in $4,000,000 that the State has allocated so far for demographic-specific outreach. The State will award another round of contracts after June 2019 to capture the remaining demographic groups and augment the first round of groups. Governor Gavin Newsom has proposed additional funding in the 2019-20 State Budget for this effort. 

Click here to download the Regional Community Based Organization (CBO) pdf

Demographic Group

Organization

Latinos

 

NALEO Educational Fund
1122 W. Washington Blvd., Third Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90015

Ely Flores, Director of Civic Engagement
213-747-7606
eflores@naleo.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Carlos Beltran

Latino Community Foundation
235 Montgomery St. Suite 1160
San Francisco, CA 95104

Jacqueline Martinez Garcel, CEO
415-236-4023
jgarcel@latinocf.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Quintilia Avila

African-Americans


California Calls

4801 Exposition Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90016

Kaci Y. Patterson, Owner and Principal
818-442-1963
kaci@socialgoodsolutions.com

California Complete Count assigned staff: David Tucker

Native Americans and Tribal Communities

 

California Indian Manpower Consortium
738 North Market Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95834

Lorenda T. Sanchez, Executive Director
916-920-0285
lorendas@cimcinc.com

California Complete Count assigned staff: Connie Hernandez

California Native Vote Project
1000 N. Alameda Street, Suite 240
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Jesse F. Fraire
323-214-9699
jfraire@canativevote.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Connie Hernandez

Asian-Americans & Pacific Islanders (API)

 

Asian Americans Advancing Justice
1145 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90017

An Le, 2020 Census Statewide Network Manager
213-977-7500
ale@advancingjustice-la.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Sara Pol-Lim

Immigrants and Refugees

 

Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights (CHIRLA)
2533 W. 3rd St., Suite 101
Los Angeles, CA 90057

Angelica Salas, Executive Director
213-353-1335
asalas@chirla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Patricia Vazquez-Topete

Farmworkers

 

Mixteco/Indigena Community Organizing Project
520 West Fifth St., Suite G
Oxnard, CA 93030

Arcenio J. Lopez, Executive Director
805-483-1166
arcenio.lopez@mixteco.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Emilio Vaca

California Rural Legal Assistance, Inc. (CRLA)
1430 Franklin Street, Suite 103
Oakland, CA 94612

Susan Podesta, Director of Grants and Contracts
530-742-5191 ext. 319
spodesta@crla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Emilio Vaca

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ)

 

Equality California Institute
3701 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 725
Los Angeles, CA 90010

Robbie Rodriguez, Program Director
323-848-9801
robbie@eqca.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Mignonne Pollard

Areas with low broadband subscription rates and limited or no access

 

United Ways of California
915 L Street Suite C #255
Sacramento, CA 95814

Paola Hernandez, Census Program Manager
786-973-2887
phernandez@unitedwaysca.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Quintilia Avila

Households with limited English proficiency

 

Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights (CHIRLA)
2533 W. 3rd St., Suite 101
Los Angeles, CA 90057

Angelica Salas, Executive Director
213-353-1335
asalas@chirla.org

California Complete Count assigned staff: Quintilia Avila

CALIFORNIA ADMINISTRATIVE COMMUNITY BASED ORGANIZATIONS

On Tuesday, March 12, 2019, the California Complete Count Office announced 10 administrative community-based organizations that it is partnering with to encourage participation of all Californians in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 decennial count.

Totaling $22.95 million, with an additional proposed $10 million from Governor Gavin Newsom, the Administrative Community-Based Organization awards go to community-based organizations that will target hard-to-count populations within each of California’s 10 regions.

Click here to download the Regional Administrative Community Based Organization (ACBO) pdf

Region Counties ACBO
1 Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

Sacramento Region Community Foundation
955 University Ave, Suite A
Sacramento, CA 95825

Niva Flor
Interim Chief Impact & Strategy Officer
niva@sacregcf.org
(916) 921-7723

Census Office Staff Lead: Yumi Sera

2 Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

United Way of the Wine Country
975 Corporate Center Parkway, Suite 160
Santa Rosa, CA 95407

Nicollette Weinzveg
Health Program Officer
nicollette.weinzveg@unitedwaywinecountry.org
(707) 528-4485

Census Office Staff Lead: Carlos Beltran

3 Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

United Way of the Bay Area
550 Kearny Street, Suite 1000
San Francisco, CA 94108

Kelly Batson
Senior Vice President, Community Impact
kbatson@uwba.org
415-808-4315

Census Office Staff Lead: David Tucker

4 Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Faith in Action Network
2143 East Cesar E Chavez Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Pablo Rodriguez
pablo@cncedfund.org
(916) 542-8490

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

5 Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Ventura

Ventura County Community Foundation
4001 Mission Oaks Blvd., Suite A
Camarillo, CA 93012

Gabino Aguirre
Region 5 Coordinator
drgabino@gmail.com
(805) 701-3423

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

6 Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

Sierra Health Foundation: Center for Health Project Management
1321 Garden Hwy
Sacramento, CA 95833

Cindy Quezada
Region 6 Census Outreach
cquezada@sierrahealth.org
(916) 502-1236

Census Office Staff Lead: Emilio Vaca

7 Riverside, San Bernardino

The Community Foundation
3700 Sixth Street, Suite 200
Riverside, CA 92501

Deborah Phares
Project Manager, Census 2020
deborah@censusie.org
714-262-4250

Census Office Staff Lead: Quintilia Avila

8 Los Angeles

California Community Foundation
221 S. Figueroa Street #400
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Stephania Ramirez
Director of Strategic Initiatives
sramirez@calfund.org
(213) 452-6247

Census Office Staff Lead: Cecil Flournoy

9 Orange

Charitable Ventures of Orange County
4041 MacArthur Blvd. Suite 510
Newport Beach, CA 92660

Susan Johnson
Project Manager
Susan.johnson@charitableventuresoc.org
(714) 597-6630 x123

Census Office Staff Lead: Sara Pol-Lim

10 Imperial, San Diego

United Way of San Diego County
4699 Murphy Canyon Road
San Diego, CA 92123

Michele Silverthorn
Count Me 2020 Coalition Project Manager
michele.silverthorn@gmail.com
619-549-9838

Census Office Staff Lead: Connie Hernandez

California Census Office Regional Contacts

The California Complete Count – Census 2020 is headquartered in Sacramento and given the geographic size of the state and scope of work that needs to be completed to ensure a successful count, it has established outreach offices in Los Angeles, San Diego, Fresno and Oakland.

The Census Office has dedicated staff assigned to each region. Learn more about them here.

The Census Office created Regional Program Manager (RPM), Regional Program Associate (RPA), Northern, Central and Southern California Lead RPM positions to collaborate and coordinate with HTC communities within regions and sectors. This regional management structure is core to the outreach team’s ability to establish and coordinate local relationships and effectively manage contracts.

Region

Counties

Regional Program Manager

1

Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Sacramento, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba

Yumi Sera

1

Placer, Nevada

Emilio Vaca

2

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma, Trinity

Carlos Beltran

3

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano

David Tucker

4

Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Emilio Vaca

4

Madera

Mai Thao

4

Mariposa, Merced

Patricia Vazquez-Topete

5

San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara

Irving Pacheco 

5

Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey

Patricia Vazquez-Topete

5

Ventura

Cecil Flournoy

6

Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Tulare

Mai Thao

7

Riverside, San Bernardino

Quintilia Ávila

8

County of Los Angeles, South Los Angeles, West Los Angeles, San Fernando Valley, City of Los Angeles (Council Districts 4,5,8,9,10,11,12)

Cecil Flournoy

8

East Los Angeles, Southeast Los Angeles, San Gabriel Valley cities, Antelope Valley, City of Los Angeles (Council Districts 1,2,3,6,7,13,14)

Irving Pacheco

8

Long Beach, South Bay cities, City of Los Angeles (Council District 15, San Gabriel Valley cities, San Pedro/Port of LA/Wilmington)

Sara Pol-Lim

9

Orange

Sara Pol-Lim

10

Imperial, San Diego

Connie Hernandez

 

Statewide Assignments

Sectors:

  • Health services
  • Labor (Unions)
  • Faith-based
  • Business/Corporate
  • Technology & Innovation
  • Entertainment
  • Rural

Marcy Kaplan, Sectors Outreach Manager

Education:

  • K-12 public schools
  • Community Colleges
  • Higher Education Institutions
  • Adult Education
  • Libraries

Mignonne Pollard, Education Outreach Manager

Language and Communication Access

Yumi Sera, Quintilia Avila

To contact the Census Office Outreach Team, please click here.

To create cohesiveness between state and federal census efforts, the U.S. Census Bureau will assign one partnership specialist to each of the 10 established state regions who will then coordinate with the assigned RPM to that region. The RPM will also be coordinating and collaborating with all local and tribal governments, CBOs, foundations, and other interested stakeholders in their assigned region. 

U.S. Census Bureau Partnership Coordinators

Coordinator

Phone

Email

Lia Bolden (Northern CA-West)

510-935-9886

Elaine.Lia.Bolden@2020census.gov

Tammie Brown (LA County – part)

213-314-6419

Tammie.N.Brown@2020census.gov

Jessica Imotichey (Tribal and Congressional)

213-314-6268

Jessica.A.Imotichey@2020census.gov

Meredith Maxwell (LA County – part)

213-314-6276

Meredith.D.Maxwell@2020census.gov

Rosa Rendon (Central Coast and Fresno)

213-314-6230

Rosa.Rendon@2020census.gov

Brigitte Roberts (Northern CA – East)

510-761-1150

Brigitte.E.Roberts@2020census.gov

 

Click here (PDF) to view the U.S. Census Bureau map of geographical assignments.

County and Local Complete Count Committee (LCCC) Contacts

Download PDF for a list of contacts for Counties, County Office of Education, and LCCC

COUNTY LCCC CONTACT LCCC EMAIL LCCC TEL
Alameda County Casey Farmer Casey.Farmer@acgov.org 510-393-0388
Alpine County      
Amador County      
Butte County      
Calaveras County Kathy Gallino kgallino@co.calaveras.ca.us  
Colusa County Elizabeth Kelly ekelly@colusadhhs.org 530-458-0290
Contra Costa County Diane Burgis    
Del Norte County      
El Dorado County      
Fresno County Kaya Herron kaya@fmbcc.com  
Glenn County      
Humboldt County      
Imperial County Rebecca Terrazas-Baxter Rebeccaterrazas-Baxter@co.imperial.ca.us  
Inyo County Cathreen Richards crichards@inyocounty.us 760-878-0447
Kern County Thomas Brown, Alejandra Garcia brownt@kerncounty.com 661-868-3159
Kings County Kyria Martinez Kyria.Martinez@co.kings.ca.us 559-600-3230
Lake County Rachael Dillman Rachael.Dillman@lakecountyca.gov 707-995-4290
Lassen County      
Los Angeles County Avianna Uribe, Maria Garcia auribe@ceo.lacounty.gov
maria.garcia@lacity.org 
 
Madera County Jamie Bax jamie.bax@maderacounty.com 559-675-7821
Marin County Dennis Rodoni, Kate Colin    
Mariposa County Rebecca Maietto rmaietto@mariposahsc.org 209-742-0955
Mendocino County Julie Beardsley beardsleyj@mendocinocounty.org 707-472-2684
Merced County Amber Phillips amber.phillips@countyofmerced.com  
Modoc County      
Mono County      
Monterey County Rosemary Soto SotoRY1@co.monterey.ca.us  
Napa County Mary Booher mary.booher@countyofnapa.org  
Nevada County      
Orange County Saul Viramontes saul.viramontes@ocgov.com  
Placer County Nikki Streegan, Raul Martinez    
Plumas County      
Riverside County Karthick Ramakrishanan karthick@ucr.edu  
Sacramento County Gabby Trejo, Niva Flor census2020@sacregcf.org 916-921-7723
San Benito County Dulce Alonso dalonso@cosb.us 831-636-4000
San Bernardino County Karthick Ramakrishnan karthick@ucr.edu  
San Diego County (SANDAG) Darlanne Hoctor Mulmat darlanne.mulmat@sandag.org 619-699-7326
San Francisco County Anni Chung, Andrea Shorter    
San Joaquin County Hugo Morales, Kaya Herron, Elizabeth Jonasson hugom@pacbell.net  
San Luis Obispo County Kristin Eriksson, Morgan Torell keriksson@co.slo.ca.us 805-781-5014
San Mateo County Emma Gonzalez. Georgia Antonopolous, Rosanne Foust elgonzalez@smcgov.org  
Santa Barbara County Dennis Bozanich dBozanich@countyofsb.org 805-568-3403 
Santa Clara County David Campos    
Santa Cruz County Ryan Coonery 2020census@santacruzcounty.us  
Shasta County Denise Keokhamdy  dkeokhamdy@co.shasta.ca.us
530-245-6493
Sierra County      
Siskiyou County      
Solano County Robert Burris robert@solanoedc.org 707-864-1855
Sonoma County Nour Maxwell nour.maxwell@sonoma-county.org 707-565-1269
Stanislaus County Lisa Vela, Sam David, John Aguirre lvel@elconcilio.org  
Sutter County Brynda Stranix bstranix@ysedc.org 530-751-8555
Tehama County Tara Loucks-Shepard TLoucks@tcdss.org 530-528-4158
Trinity County      
Tulare County Barbara Pilegard bpilegard@tularecog.org 559-623-0450
Tuolumne County David Gonzalves dgonzalves@co.tuolumne.ca.us  
Ventura County Rigoberto Vargas, Vanessa Bechtel rigoberto.vargas@ventura.org  
Yolo County Jenny Tan, Dana Carey Jenny.Tan@yolocounty.org 530-666-8170
Yuba County Brynda Stranix bstranix@ysedc.org 530-751-8555

Contact

California Census Office Headquarters - Sacramento
400 R St., Suite 359
Sacramento, CA 95811
916-852-2020

Please visit our Contact Us page for more information.

Looking to reach the U.S. Census Bureau? Click here to contact them.